Our Scientific Advisory Board

Dr Richard Boyd
Chief Scientific Advisor at Cartherics

Professor of Immunology at Monash University, Dr Richard Boyd is an expert in the nature and function of the thymus microenvironment for forming T cells from blood stem cells and pioneer of clinical trials to boost the T cell-based immune system in cancer patients through rejuvenation of the thymus.

Dr Miles Prince
Clinical Advisor

Dr Miles Price is a Clinical oncologist at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Head of Cancer Research at the Epworth Private Hospitals, Melbourne and a Professor at both Melbourne and Monash universities. Miles is engaged in major stem cell research and the mechanisms of the immune systems’ control of blood and cancer growth.

Professor Michael Brown
Clinical Advisor

Professor Micheal Brown Heads the Cancer Clinical Trials at Royal Adelaide Hospital where he is also a medical oncologist. Pioneer of phase 1 trial of CAR T cell therapy for metastatic melanoma.

Dr Irving Weissman
Scientific Advisor

Director, Stanford Ludwig Center for Cancer Stem Cell Research and Medicine and Professor of Pathology and Developmental Biology, Stanford University.

Dr Irving Weissman is acknowledged as the most cited scientist in stem cell sciences and the most internationally recognised innovator in stem cells and regenerative medicine. His work in developing new immune approaches for treating cancer is leading a medical revolution in this field.

Professor Hiroshi Kawamoto
Scientific Advisor

Professor Hiroshi Kawamoto is Head, Laboratory of Immunology, Department of Regeneration Science and Engineering, Institute for Frontier Life and Medical Sciences, Kyoto University, Japan.

He is a global leader in T cell differentiation and pioneer in the induction, cloning and expansion of killer T cells specific for tumour antigens using iPS cell technology.

Professor Jacques Miller
Scientific Advisor

Professor Jacques Miles is acknowledged as the scientist who discovered the immunological function of the thymus in 1961 and who identified the existence of the two major types of lymphocytes, T and B cells, in 1967.

2019 Winner of the prestigious Lasker award, often referred to as “America’s Nobels”, for discovering the function of the thymus and for revealing for the first time that there are two types of white blood cells, T cells made in the thymus and B cells made in the bone marrow.